Scrap-n-Craft-n-Blog

The Very Best Scrapbooking and handi-Crafts site on the internet!!

Win a Nintendo Wii? Is this for real?? March 15, 2007

Filed under: Blogging,Contests — scrapncraft @ 8:26 pm

Are Blog Contests Evil?

John Chow, the self-proclaimed root of all evil, has launched another blog contest.

He’s offering a pretty decent prize–a Nintendo Wii.

Here are his contest rules:

…just make a post in your blog about it. Link to me using the anchor text “root of all evil,” link to http://www.1234Pens.com using “promotional pens,” and link to this blog post… Add as much information as you want – just make sure you follow the linking rules. This contest is open to everyone. If you have blog, you can enter. It doesn’t matter where you are or what language your blog is in. After you made your post, send an email to wii@1234pens.com with the URL to your post. Once we confirm the post meets the linking requirements, we’ll print out your email and toss in to the draw bucket.

I’m not a video game player, but I know what a Nintendo Wii is and how popular those things are. So I’m entering John’s contest. If I win, I’ll “recycle” that prize as a prize for my own contest. (Is that evil?)

As with every , the goal is to boost rankings (and traffic) by getting a lot of other bloggers to link to your blog (or in this case, link to John’s blog and a friend’s website that sells promotional pens).

If you ask me, getting more traffic is a mighty good goal to have. It’s no wonder so many bloggers are having these types of contests.

But are these types of contests evil? Are they junking up the blogosphere? Do they annoy you?

I’d love to know what your opinion is on this subject!

Oh…Bonnie, I loved what you you did on your blog!  Hope you don’t mind me borrowing your thoughts!

By the way, I think that this is a great idea…why didn’t I think of it??

Here’s the link to John’s contest: John Chow’s latest blog contest.

 

Leave a Reply

